Skip to content

Light Conversation

April 4, 2011

I found myself at a friend’s house last Monday night.  If he ever reads this, he’ll know it’s him.  Now under normal circumstances, I would never bring up the topic of religion, but I happen to have recently learned that this individual is steadfast in his belief in Christianity.  And on this particular evening, er, early morning, a pitcher of Blue Moon gave me the inquisitiveness to brazenly asked him why he believed in God, Jesus, the Bible, and other such things.  He asked me a series of questions to which my responses were ‘but why does that make rational sense?’ until we got to the Big Bang.  This is the outer limit of my sphere of understanding.  And it was this topic (among a few others) which brought me to question my religious beliefs in the first place.  It is more comfortable to push something that I can’t understand away.  Out of sight, out of mind, right?  …wrong…? At any rate, it’s an issue I’m going to have to come to terms with at some point.  Either I’ll affirm my beliefs and be resolute in them, or I’ll denounce them entirely and be content with being agnostic.

Until that point comes, I suppose I’ll continue to ask about his beliefs, etc. until I either figure out where I stand, or until he gets sick of me.

The picture I posted here is quite possibly the closest I’ve ever come to having a religious experience.  I took it at Port Salut in Haiti.  Thus far, it’s my favorite place in the world.  But this is subject to change (especially since my summer plans span 4 continents. WIN)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

